## International Geographical Union--Union Géographique Internationale

Office of the President:

Department of Environmental & Geographical Science University of Cape Town, Rondebosch 7701, South Africa Tel.: +27 21 650 2873 (Off), +27 82 764 7334 (Mob)

E-Mail: michael.meadows@uct.ac.za
URL: http://www.igu-online.org



8<sup>th</sup> January 2021

Luiz Oosterbeek President of the International Council of Philosophy and Human Sciences (CIPSH) www.cipsh.net

**Dear Professor Oosterbeek** 

## Letter of support for World Logic Day

It is with pleasure and pride that the International Geographical Union (IGU) joins the many world academic, educational and cultural bodies in celebrating World Logic Day proclaimed by UNESCO in association with the International Council for Philosophy and Human Sciences (CIPSH) on 14th January 2021. Geography is one of the oldest and most fundamental of the sciences and throughout its long history of development has walked side-by-side with logic. Our discipline is concerned with place, space, humanity, society, and the environment, and logic forms the backbone of its wideranging scholarly works as an essential tool in the collection of data/information, conducting analyses, developing explanations, integrating, modelling, planning and communicating. Geography is interdisciplinary by nature, and would not be possible without the universal conceptual tool of logic, which is deeply rooted in the nature of humankind and has evolved over time in all human societies and diverse cultures.

We congratulate the International Council of Philosophy and Human Sciences in coordinating the inaugural World Logic Day.

Yours sincerely

M Meadon

Michael E Meadows

Michael E Meadows BSc (Hons) Sussex PhD Cantab. FSSAG FRGS FRSSAf F.UCT FAAS Memb. Acad.

President: International Geographical Union Emeritus Professor and Senior Research Scholar, University of Cape Town, Distinguished Professor, East China Normal University, Jian Feng Professor, Zhejiang Normal University

## International Geographical Union Executive Committee, 2020-2022

Michael Meadows, South Africa, President

Iain Hay, Australia, First Vice-President Elena dell'Agnese, Italy, Vice-President Holly Barcus, USA, Vice-President Fu Bojie, China-Beijing, Vice-President Céline Rosenblat, Switzerland Vice-President RB Singh, India, Secretary-General & Treasurer

Yukio Himiyama, Japan, Past President Barbaros Gönençgil, Turkey, Vice-President Nathalie Lemarchand, France, Vice-President Rubén Lois Gonzales, Spain, Vice-President Pankaj Kumar, India, Assistant Secretary-General